Melvin Thathiah

Experience. Integrity. Trust.

Get Involved

Improve the 380th District Court

Vote Melvin Thathiah for Judge
Republican Primary Tuesday, March 3rd


Melvin will uphold the rights and liberties as guaranteed by our Constitution.

ToughDecision Maker

Melvin will make the right decisions based on the fact and the law and treat every litigant with impartiality.


Melvin is a proud conservative who loves his country and our traditional American ideals.

Show you value a faithful, impartial, and transparent judge for 380th District Court

AboutMelvin Thathiah

Melvin met his wife, Alyson, while they both attended Texas A&M University in 1999 while they were working together at transfer camp. They dated for a few years and because of their strong ties and relationships with Texas A&M, Melvin decided to propose to Alyson in 2005 under the famous Century Tree at A&M.

Melvin Thathiah is a proud husband, a loving father, and experienced judge who is eager to restore a transparent and ethical legal system to Collin County.

Melvin has been working within the legal system for almost 15 years, including his time as a visiting judge for the Justice Courts of Collin County, as well as the last four years running his own private practice in Plano, Texas. He has litigated hundreds of Bench Trials and over 50 Jury Trials as first-chair, giving him the experience, perspective, and wisdom we need to move our legal system forward.

In addition to his work history, Melvin is also a member of the Collin County Bar Association, Collin County Criminal Defense Lawyers Association, and Aggie Bar Association.

Like any true Texan, Melvin understands the benefits and rewards of hard work, perseverance, and having faith in one’s own ability to reach their goals. After receiving his Juris Doctorate from the Florida Coastal School of Law, Melvin worked for other law offices over the span of ten years before starting his own practice in 2016.

As our judge, Melvin will provide the refreshing blend of passion, work ethic, and personal investment in our community that we’ve needed for years. He will make the necessary tough decisions and apply the law accurately and equitably to all cases, ensuring a safe and bright future for the citizens of Collin County.



Hon. John Peyton Retired Collin County Justice of the Peace

Hon. Rick Smith Plano Mayor Pro-tem

Hon. Shelby Williams Plano City Council

Hon. Lily Bao Plano City Council


Bret Baldwin – Precinct 197

Bret Walsh - Precinct 63

Brian Duchouquette - Precinct 81

Colleen Aguilar-Epstein - Precinct 76

Connor Barron - Precinct 141

Daniel Long - Precinct 68

Debbie Bonenberger - Precinct 89

Gail Seiler – Precinct 71

Jeff Cassels – Precinct 124

John Donovan - Precinct 137

Joe Richardson - Precinct 116

Linda Block - Precinct 115

Matthew Dixon – House District 66 Caucus Chair

Pat Greer - Precinct 67

Rohit Joy - Precinct 77

Maria Garcia - Precinct 21

Suresh Kumar - Precinct 87

Dianna Biscan - Precinct 176

David Cornette - Precinct 40

Arthur Young - Precinct 62

Alex Evans - Precinct 145

Abraham George - Vice-Chair , Engagement

Vicki Myers - Precinct 108

Valerie Herrington - Precinct 19

Thomas Klein - Precinct 140


(PACS & REPUBLICAN CLUBS for identification purposes only)

Allan Samara – Plano Citizens Coalition

Arthur Young - African American Republican Club

Badri Singh - US IMPACT PAC

Beth Caruth - Plano Future

Laureston Crockett - Plano Guardian

Maria Garcia - President of the Hispanic Republican Club of North Texas

Jonathan Baldwin - Collin County Conservative Republicans

Tom Harrison - Collin County Conservative Republicans

Angela Haynes

Blixa Markum

Brad Seiler

Chris Kerr

Donna Wazak

Fred Nassari

Gene Gervasi

Greg Knapp

Jacenta Sims

Jim Kerr

Mary Fortune

Mac Johnston

Sandy Dixon

Steve Palmer

Sue Denson

Suzanne Blackstone